Three Brown professors elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Brown University

Three Brown University professors have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honor societies.

The new members from Brown are Carl Kaestle, professor emeritus of education, history and public policy; Diane Lipscombe, professor of neuroscience and director of the Carney Institute for Brain Science; and Susanna Loeb, professor of education, international and public affairs, and director of the Annenberg Institute.

They join the academy, which includes leading thinkers in science, public affairs, business, arts and humanities, among a class of 276 new members. Members are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large.


As director of the Annenberg Institute at Brown, Loeb leads a major hub for interdisciplinary education scholarship and its translation into policy and practice, building on the institute’s past work in addressing the causes and consequences of educational inequality in the U.S. Her own research specializes in education policy and the relationship between educational opportunities for students and federal, state and local policies. 

“I am so honored by this recognition, not only of my research but of the importance of trying to get better answers to education policy questions so that we can provide better opportunities for students — particularly for those students who need them the most,” she said of her election to the academy.